SMaSH recipe critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hayden512

Reaction score
Planning on doing a SMaSH pale ale this weekend with Golden Promise and El Dorado. Just wanted to get your guys input on a recipe I threw together today. Aiming for balanced APA leaning maybe more on the hoppy side. However I'm looking for more flavor/aroma profile with just bitterness to balance. I would like to be able to taste the Golden Promise as I've never used it before. Let me know what you think.

10 lbs 8.0 oz Golden Promise (Simpsons) (2.0 SRM) Grain 3 97.7 %
0.50 oz El Dorado [15.00 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 5 23.3 IBUs
0.50 oz El Dorado [15.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 6 11.0 IBUs
0.50 oz El Dorado [15.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 7 6.0 IBUs
0.50 oz El Dorado [15.00 %] - Flame Out Hop 8 0.0 IBUs
1.00 oz El Dorado [15.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days
1.0 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) [50.28 ml] Yeast 9

Mashing @ 152oF

OG - 1.052
FG - 1.011
40.3 IBUs
AbV - 5.4%

I'm not super familiar with El Dorado so I can't really comment on that, but I will say I personally like to mash a little higher for SMaSH pale ales. For my taste they have dried out a little too much if I don't mash around 154. I also do like my APA's to have a little more malt presence (even in a SMaSH) than some do though so my preference might not be the norm.

I was going back and forth on knocking my mash temp up a few degrees so I might take that advice.

El Dorado description -
El Dorado is an exceptional new dual purpose hop with both high Alpha Acid and intense flavors and aromas. As a bittering hop El Dorado lends a firm but balanced bitterness. This hop has bright tropical fruit flavors and aromas of pear, watermelon, and stone fruit. 14-16% Alpha Acid.