Smaller kettle options for BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HobbitBeer

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to BIAB, and I've got a 7.5g kettle. I'd like to brew a normal 5g batch, but I understand I'll need ~2x the volume if not more. Would it be possible to mash more grain to reach a higher OG, then top off with additional water to hit my target volume before the boil?

i.e, 12lbs in 5 gallons to mash hitting 1.102 OG, then adding 2 gallons to dilute to 1.061?

I understand that the real answer is getting a bigger vessel, but any input on this would be helpful.

There's no rule saying BIAB needs to be full volume no-sparge.

If you have a second vessel, or even a food-grade bucket, you could dunk sparge.

Hey! That's an idea! I've got a large insulated beverage dispenser that should work, thanks for the tip. Now that I know what to look for (dunk sparge), of course there are tons of threads.:D

Or you could make a smaller batch.....

I sure could, but who wants 4 gallons of beer when they could have 5?;)

There's no rule saying BIAB needs to be full volume no-sparge.

If you have a second vessel, or even a food-grade bucket, you could dunk sparge.

This is exactly what I do. Mash then do a 5L dunk sparge.

I target the gravity at this point to be what I want post boil. Then after the boil I top up the hot wort with enough water to bring me back to my target gravity.

beersmith has the capability to work all the calcs out with the dunk sparge and kettle top up. Works great means I generally get 24L out of a 27L sized kettle.