Safale HA-18

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Interesting. I still have to wonder why add enzymes to the wort instead of properly mashing the wort at lower temps to improve fermentability?

I’ve only been brewing for less than a year so I’m a total novice at this. My guess on the enzimes is like putting beano in the fermenter for low carb beers. Other thing that sticks out to me is the fermentation temp range 77.0F-95.0F. I wonder what the flavor profile is.

I wonder if it's ec-1118. Probably not, maybe the name refers to High Alcohol 18%.

Whitelabs does something similar by having diastaticus in wlp099 for their high alcohol blend. Always thought this would be an interesting way of packaging yeast so it'll be interesting to see how the concept plays out.

Although I suppose this is basically turbo yeast. Maybe the strain is from their safspirit range.

They do not mention it to be var. diastaticus, so maybe it is not that. I have used diastaticus with no issues, but I would be wary of a yeast being so high alcohol tolerant.

I think I found a thread on the Internet regarding this yeast and the result were not good, but anyway we need a few more people trying this strain out.

The specification sheet says that HA-18 is a high alcohol yeast with glucoamylase enzyme. It's most likely a wine or spirit yeast.

I wrote that whitelabs does something similar by using a strain of diastaticus in their high alcohol blend wlp099. Microbiologists (professional and amateur) have found two strains in wlp099. Most likely one produces the enzyme then the other makes the alcohol. That is unless all those vials were contaminated with the strain or for some reason the yeast produces two distinct colonies on agar, I'm sure there might be other possibilities.