Saazig Pfest IPA (Extract w/Grains)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Groo

Reaction score
Recipe Type: Extract
Yeast: S-05
Batch Size (Gallons): 2.4
Original Gravity: 1.061
Final Gravity: 1.014
IBU: 49.1
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 7.9
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 10 at 65-66
Tasting Notes: Lychee like aroma with some Floral notes, nice bitterness with a little bit of bread like character in the flavor.

First off this brew tasted damn good to me, the aroma was something totally different for an IPA and it seemed to work. I'm new to brewing and this was my 4th brew and my 1st attempt at making a recipe. It was based on what I had on hand and would love to make it into a partial mash. It's obviously and IPA made from mostly Saaz and Sterling. I've read the hop profile for Saaz and Sterling which say Earth, Spicy etc. I'm thinking the Spicy flavor is what I describe as Floral. I'm not getting the earthiness at all.

2.75 lb DME Golden Light (Briess) (4.0 SRM) Dry Extract 78.6 %
0.50 lb Amber Dry Extract (12.5 SRM) Dry Extract 14.3 %
0.25 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 7.1 %
0.50 oz Sterling [7.50%] (60 min) Hops
0.50 oz Sterling [7.50%] (20 min) Hops
0.50 oz Saaz [3.00%] (20 min) Hops
0.50 oz Saaz [3.00%] (10 min) Hops
0.25 oz Saaz [3.00%] (0 min) Hops
0.25 oz Sterling [7.50%] (0 min) Hops
0.75 oz Saaz [3.00%] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops
0.75 oz Sterling [7.50%] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops

All hops were leaf variety.