Rookie wine experiment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eadavis80

Reaction score
I have been brewing beer for over 2 years. My wife showed some interest in possibly getting into wine making. However, making a 6-gallon batch was certainly not something she was interested in doing. She just doesn't drink that much. So, as a very cheap experiment, we put 5 gallons of Welch's 100% grade juice, dissolved 1 pound of corn sugar and pitched rehydrated Red Star Montrachet yeast into a 2-gallon plastic bucket we got at the home brew store. I aerated the juice/sugar mixture prior to pitching. What, if anything, should I expect flavor wise? How long would you keep it in the bucket before transferring to a 1-gallon glass jug? How long would you keep it in the jug? Thanks.

Oops - careless Monday morning typo before the first cup of coffee set in. I meant ONE gallon of grape juice, not 5.

It will end up tasting like an alcoholic peanut butter and jelly sandwich, not wine-like at all. I use it as filler wine for topping up other batches.

this is my recipe, comes out semi sweet. 2 weeks in primary, 1 week in secondary. the cuvee yeast ferments fast and you get between 11 and 12 %ABV. it was dry at transfer into secondary but after a week in the secondary it sweetened up a bit (actually perfect for me). its young, but every bottle I open is better than the last. (I have very little patience lol) definitely no peanut butter and jelly sandwich :rolleyes:

3-96 ounce bottles of welchs (concord) grape juice
2-96 ounce bottles of welchs (Niagara) white grape juice
1-96 ounce bottle of motts 100%apple juice
5 cups of sugar
5 tsp of lemon juice
5 tsp of yeast nutrient
1 packet of red star cuvee wine yeast