Rookie Extract vs. All-Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How should I get into home brewing?

• Extract

Votes: 13 40.6%
  • All-grain

Votes: 9 28.1%
  • Extract + grain

Votes: 10 31.3%

• Total voters

Cobberdog

Reaction score
Hey everyone! So I’m fresh outta college and I wanna pick up the art of brewing after I get back from vacation. Other than reading some books and listening to some podcasts, I’m a total rookie to homebrewing. I feel like i have a decent handle on things, but I realize once I get to brewing I’ll probably feel quite lost. I was wondering whether people think it’s smart to go all-grain from the get go?

I realize that it’s more expensive (thinking BIAB) and it’s far easier to get a bad final product, but I think I would enjoy challenging myself and having more control over my beer. Just looking for some thoughts from fellow beer geeks :). Much love and thanks for reading my post!

I would agree that starting with extra brewing and seeping specialty grains is the best way to start. You’ll learn the process of brewing and start to see how gravities, hops, grains, and other dynamics work with only needing a kettle and a fermenter(obviously you need other little ins and outs) I Started with the Brewers best Ale Pale kit. Then it gives you time to build your all grain system piece by piece as you get better.

I do biab now but am glad I did several extract kits first because they were a good way to get a good feel for the process and steps involved. Biab really just adds on a few more steps so is a good progression, in my opinion.