Review my Southern Pecan Porter Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crock_it_out

Reaction score
This is only my 5th brew but it will be my first original recipe....and also my first porter. Since I'm still new at this it is an extract recipe....but I would love to hear all input from all brewers. The yeast has yet to be determined. Also the Southern Pecan portion of this porter is coming from a Southern Pecan coffee from a local coffee shop. I'm pretty sure I am going to cold steep the beans and add to the secondary. What are your thoughts on amount of coffee and when to add it to the brew....wort, secondary, bottling? Also what are your thoughts on a yeast nutrient?

Recipe: Southern Pecan Porter
Brewer: Crock it Out
Asst Brewer:
Style: Robust Porter
TYPE: Extract
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 3.15 gal
Post Boil Volume: 2.86 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Bottling Volume: 4.60 gal
Estimated OG: 1.067 SG
Estimated Color: 31.5 SRM
Estimated IBU: 35.7 IBUs
Estimated ABV: 6.9%
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 0.0 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name
GRAINS
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM)
12.0 oz Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM)
8.0 oz Carafoam (Weyermann) (2.2 SRM)
8.0 oz Flaked Barley (Briess) (1.4 SRM)
2 lbs DME Golden Light (Briess) (4.0 SRM)
6 lbs 9.6 oz LME Pilsen Light (Briess) (2.3 SRM)

HOPS
0.75 oz Galena (US) Hop Pellets [13.80 %] [Boil for 60 min]
0.50 oz Cascade (US) Hop Pellets [6.20 %] [Boil for 60 min]
0.75 oz Tettnang (US) Hop Pellets [6.10 %] [Boil for 15 min]

1.00 tsp Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate)
8.00 oz Malto-Dextrine (Boil 20.0 mins)
1.00 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 mins)
8.0 oz Brown Sugar, Dark [Boil for 10 min]