Reusing a compressor to build a small freezer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boomchke

Reaction score
Hi Folks - I'll apologize in advance if this isn't the right place - but I've honestly tried everywhere else and mostly been turned away because "I'm not a professional HVAC guy". Anyways - I thought I'd try here and see if folks could help me out and my end goal is related to making ice so I figured HomeBrew was worth a shot (and I've been a reader for a long time and there are so many helpful folks here!).

So. I'd like to build a small freezer with the end goal of cooling/freezing an aluminum plate. Im trying to build a machine to build clear ice and to do that, you need to directionally freeze the water. Most machines that do this have a freezer plate that water in a bag sites on top of and it freezes from the bottom up. So my initial thought was to take a small chest freezer, make a hole in the top of the it, and expose the water through the hole to the freezing air. I ran into a number or problems but what it really boiled down to was that it was entirely inefficient and took up WAY too much space.

So I thought to myself that I could make a much smaller freezer cavity and just put the evaporator lines in a much smaller insulated space which I would then cover with an aluminum plate to expose to the water.

As luck would have it - a neighbor has a small freezer they are getting rid of since one of their kids was defrosting the inside of it and nicked an evaporator line which drained all the refrigerant. So I have a compressor that I know works, I believe I can use the other pieces from the freezer (metering device, etc) and just add in my own custom evaporator and condensor lines made out of coper.