Repitching 1728 to/from Boubon Barrel Porter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which should I brew first?

• Brew the Porter first and repitch to the Sweet Stout.

• Brew the Sweet Stout first and repitch to the Porter.

• Don't repitch, use Nottingham with the Stout.

Results are only viewable after voting.

dlm3

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm planning on brewing a Sweet Stout (dressing it up to be my "Caramel Macchiato Stout") and a Bourbon Barrel Porter for my next brews. I bought Danstar Nottingham for the Stout and Wyeast 1728 Scottish Ale for the bourbon porter, but was thinking that the 1728 yeast might be better than the Nottingham with my Stout as well. I'm new to home brewing, but was considering repitching the yeast from the first batch into the second. I'm planning on letting the porter age for about 6-8 months before drinking, so I would like to get that one started before my stout (also since I just bottled my first brew and would like to time it so that the stout is ready around the time I run out of this batch.)

The issue is that I've read that you don't want to pitch yeast from a higher-gravity brew to a lower gravity one. The porter has an OG of 1.065 and the stout is 1.045. Do you think that they are close enough that it would be okay to do the porter first, or should I brew the stout first?
Also, would sanitation be even more of a concern if the porter gets the repitched yeast since it will be aged for so long?

Any thoughts about this would be greatly appreciated! I'm also open to thoughts on whether the 1728 or Nottingham would be better in my Sweet (Coffee) Stout.

Thanks,
-D.L.