Relearning an old hobby

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wilemon8

Reaction score
Hello all!!

I was a homebrew hobbyist years ago but got out of it just as I was dipping into All grain brewing. Now, I'm starting over, equipment wise, and re-entering the homebrew community. I'm probably headed in the BIAB direction. I'm here to find advice and ideas on setups and equipment, as well as recipes. Looking forward to being a part of the crowd!!

Welcome back!

Opinions will vary(!)

I suggest BIAB (just a 8-10G kettle on kitchen stove, if stove/ space accommodates). And an all-rounder fermzilla to ferment (with a CO2 tank to transfer). If you don't want to deal with CO2 tanks, a Fermonster fermenter of whatever size batch you want to brew is a good option.

If you have a basement/cellar with regular temps in the 60's, you're off to a good start.

Fruity-zesty flavors tend to ferment above 66F; cleaner, crisper flavors below 66F (very broad strokes).

There are a lot more options these days for all in one systems. Not sure what your budget is but there are cheaper options available too. I just recently jumped from propane to an electric all in one system and so far I'm not regretting anything.

If you are going from 5 gallon to 2.5 gallon, you can basically cut the recipe in half and then tweak from there as needed to get to the specs you are looking for. Beersmith or another software can help you scale recipes or just enter 1/2 of the original amounts. I've been using Beersmith and also gives me a good initial direction for BIAB mash volumes etc, which I then adjust as needed.