Refermentation in secondary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dlutter

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm looking for some feedback on how I should handle this batch.

Some history:​

A few weeks ago I brewed 5 gal of an all Cascade pale ale (loosely based on Deschutes Mirror Pond) that called for 3 oz of hop pellets in secondary with Imperial Yeast A07 Flagship (Chico strain). This is my first time using Imperial. I usually use Wyeast 1056.​

Primary for 7 days went fine but it seemed like it finished a little high (1.012 or 1.014). I transferred to secondary with the dry hop pellets and checked on it a couple of days later. I saw lots of activity in the fermenter (hops swirling & bubbles in the wort) with some airlock activity. I figured its either infected or it jump started something so I just left it alone to sort itself out.​

I've been busy for 10 days and just rechecked it. Gravity is 1.005 and the fermenter is quiet except for there seems to be a lot of dissolved CO2 (small bubbles in the fermenter w/ no airlock movement). It even fizzed quite a bit on the hydrometer. Taste is pretty good, although a little grassy from being on hops for just over 2 weeks.​

Is it likely that I just had a stuck fermentation that restarted in secondary or is this batch infected? Should I transfer it to another carboy (to get it off the hops) and see what happens or should I go ahead and keg it?

Anybody ever had this happen? What were the results (good or bad)?

I've used A07 before , it's a great yeast imo. Have you tried it ? If it smells and taste good keg it and enjoy it .

Start thinking about omitting secondaries. They're really not needed, can cause trouble, while solving nothing.