Raspberry IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

temptnmonkey

Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing and this forum(not so new to beer drinking though :mug:). I've read many of the books, etc, so I finally feel prepared to give it a shot. I wanted to make an IPA as my first batch, but I also wanted to try and be creative and make an IPA with a subtle hint of raspberry (I know some say hops and raspberry don't go together, but I think a little raspberry tart can bring out some of the hop flavors in a fun way). I plan to use frozen rasp.

Anyway I have a few questions: I want to do sec fermentation (where I'd add 1# of raspberry).

Would a 5g carboy need a blowoff to accommodate this rasp addition or would airlock be ok still?

How long would you recommend leaving the raspberries in the carboy?

Would you/ can you also dry hop with the raspberries in the 5g carboy?

My plan was ~1 week in primary, 2 weeks in secondary, 3-4+ weeks in the bottle

Thanks everyone! Cheers!

Well,I have seen red raspberry in citrus juice in the store,so it'd be ok,imo,to use it with "C" hops in an IPA. But leave the brew in primary for 3-5 days after a stable FG is reached before racking to secondary. You want the ale to be at it's best before racking onto the berries. I'd def use red raspberries to match the tart/citrusy hops flavors better. Not sure how long,though.

We make a Raspberry IPA and it is one of our best sellers. There are many ways you can make it. I make ours with raspberry puree. I put it into the fermenter when it is almost at final gravity. I let the fruit in there at fermentation temp for about 24 hours. then cold crash it for three days. After that I transfer to my serving tanks and carbonate.