Quick Stater Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eagle23

Reaction score
I made my first starter the other day. I had some issues with it boiling over, and pitching the yeast when it was still on the warm side due to time constraints. All the issues were my fault and could have been avoided, but I think it was a worthwhile experience.

The long and short of the process was:

1) Boil the wort
2)Cool the wort
3) Set it on a stir plate to 48 hours
4) Place in the fridge for 48 hours
5) Planning to take out and use tomorrow

When I looked at the starter last night after it had been crashing for about 12 hours the yeast cake on the bottom didnt look overly significant. I dont know how much to expect since I've never done this before. Its not a dusting of yeast but it;s also not like its an inch thick.

What should i expect in a finished starter, and if i dont have a overly think yeast cake, should i pick up more yeast and go add it directly from the packs? Thanks in advance

Things to ponder.

1. Why do we boil the wort if it is made from DME? To pasteurize it? That could happen well before boiling which would eliminate boil overs.
2. If we didn't get the wort quite so hot (boiling) it would chill quicker.
3. Does it take 48 hours to grow significant amount of yeast?
4. Will your entire starter dilute or change the flavor significantly in a 5 gallon or larger batch? Without cold crashing (and even with) there will be a significant amount of yeast suspended in the beer that you intend to decant. Do you want to lose that yeast?
5. Did you build a large enough starter so you can save a portion of it and use it for the next batch?