Questions: adding unusual flavours to beer kits

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nat-kadaw

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to home-brewing and am primarily interested in using home-brewing kits and then changing their flavours, as opposed to boiling on my own (perhaps some day I'll get there), but I'm just struggling to find a bit of information that would make me more confident in this whole process.

I have been creating some concentrated infused jars of vodka containing the flavours i want to add to beer, but I'm sure there must be a better way to do this than adding a half cup of flavoured vodka to the beer at the priming stage. These are a couple of the modifications I was planning and my questions that go along with them.

I have so far relatively successfully made a winter-spiced beer from a Muntons Brown-Ale kit by both steeping the ingredients into the boiling water I added to the kit, as well as added a small bit of this vodka mixture at the priming stage; I have also made a pina colada cerveza beer by adding 2L of Dole pina colada mix to 21 L of the beer, and then another half liter at priming stage.

I have made little prototypes of each of these beers and they so far taste incredible when mixing a teaspoon of the flavouring into a mug of beer, but i want to know how to make them work on a 5 gallon level so I don't have to keep these little flavour jars around.

BEER #1
Red Lager kit with Pomegranate, walnut, brown sugar and saffron (persian fesenjan flavours)