Questions about primaries and secondaries

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpenn35

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm new to brewing and just bottled my first batch recently. One of the brews I'm planning on doing in the near future is a Cooper's Stout. I plan on adding some chocolate nibs and either cherries or raspberries to a portion of this stout, but not the whole thing. That being said, what would I be better off doing?

Starting everything together in my glass carboy, then after a week or two, moving some of the stout to my plastic bucket and adding the nibs and fruit to one of those

OR

Splitting everything from the start, with part of my batch in the carboy and the other part of the batch in the bucket the entire time, before adding nibs and fruit

I'm still a little confused about secondaries. My first brew was a wheat beer, and it stayed in the carboy for three weeks before I moved it to the bucket, added corn sugar, and bottled the same day. Should I have moved to the bucket sooner? Basically, I moved to the bucket so I could add the sugar more easily and to make it easier to bottle.

Any help is appreciated.

I only use secondaries for adding fruit or some other adjunct that benefits from the presence of alcohol or has a flavor that is best infused and quickly bottled or kegged. In your case, I would let the beer settle for two weeks after the fermentation is done. Then rack half of it and bottle. Then rack the remainder and add the nibs and fruit. Let them sit for a week and bottle.

In the primary for a long time is fine. In the secondary for a long time is fine (though if you've noticed, a lot of folks here are skipping secondary altogether, on this forum) but