Questions About First BJCP Competition This Weekend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3toes

Reaction score
I've been homebrewing for about 6 years now, and just entered my first BJCP competition a few weeks ago. The award ceremony is this weekend, and I'm really looking forward to getting some feedback on my beer. But I have a few questions for folks who've done this before...

According to the host/venue, there are 230 entries (among 161 participants), and all styles were accepted. I entered a Festbier (4B) and a Baltic Porter (9C).

What happens if I'm the only entry in those categories?

What can I expect in the way of feedback on my beers? Do they give you enough detail to where you could correct anything that wasn't to style the next time you brew?

I'm anxious to see how I do, but definitely don't have any expectations. They're doing some "best in show" awards as well, and one of those will be chosen by the host brewery to be brewed on their equipment and featured in their tap room. It will also serve as their Pro-Am entry for Great American Beer Fest 2020.

According to the host/venue, there are 230 entries (among 161 participants), and all styles were accepted. I entered a Festbier (4B) and a Baltic Porter (9C).

What happens if I'm the only entry in those categories?