Question about my brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haleakala

Reaction score
I am fairly new to home brewing I have already brewed 2 batches and third is in the primary but for some reason the airlock isn't bubbling I pitched the yeast about 14 hours ago without a starter I know that's not that long but my previous batches started a lot quicker about the 8 hour is something wrong?

Several factors play a part in the process, i.e. temperature, yeast pitched, O.G., amount of yeast pitched, etc. Have you looked at the top of your wort? Is there a leak in your bucket where the gas is going besides your air lock? What temperature is your wort? Have you moved it to a warmer location? A beer I brewed on Saturday did not show any signs of fermentation at 62 degrees. Warmed it up to 63-64, bubbling like crazy. Try these suggestions, see what happens.

Hope this helps.

Ok thanks for ur help I checked everything out the strain of yeast was 1 tube liquid wyeast Cali ale, current temp is 77, wort has about 1/4 inch of foam, no visible places for air to escape any idea?

The age of the yeast is a factor, if the third batch had a higher OG you may just be seeing the signs of under pitching.
Give it some time.
If you took a gravity reading before you pitched the yeast, check it again in a couple days if you don't see any signs of activity.

Alright I think it knows I'm talk about it hahaha it's starting slowly thanks for your help cheers!

I spoke to soon back to doing nothin I do have a spare tune of the same yeast I was gonna save for another time would it be good to use it or just give it time?

Give it time.
What was the OG of the wort? You may have under pitched.
Check the gravity after it's had maybe three days and see if it's coming down.