Question about 30 psi for 2 days....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saeroner

Reaction score
I'm trying to rush it to be ready for a party Sunday. I set it to 30psi last night.

If tonight, I dial the pressure down to 10psi for an hour (i just want to taste it and see how it came out) would that hurt anything? After that i would bump it back up to 30psi till the next night and set at 12.

I'm still learning.

Chill the keg to serving temp, connect 30 psi gas, lay the keg on its side, rock back and forth with foot for 2.5 minutes. Boom...done.

No issues with dialing it down to 10 psi for a taste but I would also purge the keg of all pressure and then dial it down so you dont push beer back up the gas line.

yeah but you can easily overcarb if you leave it at that pressure. it also stirs up all the sediment in the keg. Id crank it to like 35, rock back and forth until you stop hearing CO2 flowing into the keg, set to maybe 15 overnight and check it the next day. If its somehwat carbed go down to 10-12, if not, leave at 15 for a while longer

be sure the keg is purged several times with CO2 before rocking or else you be oxygenating the crap out of it

I tried it for the first time last night. In a big Sankey, and in a 3G corny with the third runnings lawn milker braggot. My kegerator only gets down to 50 degrees or so, I used 35 psi. The big one is a bitter, so it is ok if it is a little under-carbed for me.

Pretty much, however be aware it is easy to over carbonate this way.
I drop the temp to near freezing, pressure up, and shake the crap out of it. Repeat until happy, once I am happy I release the excess pressure and set to serving pressure.
No doubt that rolling for a few minutes will achieve similar results.