Props for Beer Smith

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3 Dog Brew

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been using Beer Smith for a couple of years and ignoring the strike temp because I preheat the mash tun with a RHIMS system.

Well, as it turns out the numbers are correct. I used the strike temp indicated at 164 and hit 153 perfectly.

What does the "H" stand for in RHIMS?

I still batch sparge but I found the same thing...actually I was undershooting my target mash temps using the BeerSmith numbers until I started preheating. However, you can (and I do) input the starting temp of your MLT and it was still missing for me. When I started preheating, I hit my numbers on the nose.

I can only assume that the thermal mass numbers for my MLT are off, but I'm not smart enough to figure out how to fix them.

Do love the "Smith".

I calc it manually though. # of pounds of grains + desired mash temp + 5 degrees.

This is for 10-gallon batches and I hit it every time.

BM - I use that same formula for 5 gallon recipes as well. Typically works, but I wonder if the +5 should be lower due to less grain. What would be your opinion?

What does the "H" stand for in RHIMS?

"Heat" Recirculating Heat Infusion Mash System, which is somewhat of a misnomer, but it is to distinguish between Heat Exchange systems where you move the mash through the boil kettle or some other heated water source.

As I read it, the Infusion systems usually use a water heater element, which is what I use.

I've just started using BeerSmith and must confess I like it. However, I have run into a mystery when using it to calculate my strike temp.