home brewer laws

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ntbritton

Reaction score
A couple buddies and my self have been talking about going together to start brewing homebrew, but sharing the cost of the equipment to keep it cheaper for all of us. To do so we would usually brew at the same place all the time and i under stand the federal law states. Our state does not impose any other restrictions on top of the federal law.

"The federal standards include a limitation of 100 gallons brewed per year by one adult. Two adult residents in a home are allowed to brew up to 200 gallons annually."

So my question is where does the limit apply? To the place its brewered? To the brewers home? Or is there another angle i am missing?

Thoughts would be appreciated.

I'm not a lawyer, but that sounds like they pretty explicitly spell out that each of you can brew 100 gallons. I wouldn't worry about it.

My guess (again, not a lawyer) is that the federal government could give a rats @$$ what you do as long as you aren't selling it without paying a tax. You could brew 1000 gallons as long as you don't make money or bring attention to yourself. Don't do anything stupid and there will be no consequences.

I wouldn't worry about it at all to be honest. I can't imagine anyone actually being prosecuted under this statute.

my best guess is legally, they're more concerned about the quantity per person. when clubs brew a big batch at someone's house, the 100 gallon limit could be exceeded in 1 day.
on the other hand, realistically, i've never heard of someone being busted for excessive brewing

Lawyer here.