Primo "Fill It Yourself" bottled water from Wally World??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbb3

Reaction score
Up to this point, I have purchased bottled Spring Water for my AG brewing. I haven't spent the time or mental energy to dive into and understand water chemistry/ water building aspect of brewing.

My questions is around the "fill it yourself" service that many Wally World locations provide. I think my store provides it for around .39 cents/gal.

First, does anyone use this Primo filtered water? And second, does it require any conditioning for good AG brewing or can it be used as is??

I know that some really get into the water chemistry so please keep it simple... ;)

I'm no water expert, but I believe that water is produced through an reverse osmosis filter. This means it basically has zero salts and zero chemicals. This is perfect for building your water profile according to your recipe. You can use it at is with out adding salts and minerals but your beer won't taste as good as it could, but it also won't have off flavors due to chemicals added by your local municipality

39¢ seems steep for R/O machines. i pay between 15 and 25, depending on the store. usually, it's "Glacier" brand machine. filters are likely very similar. i was surprised walmart is charging that much. anyway, i digress.

but yes, r/o water has very little (trace) elements and can be easily transformed into wonderful brewing water with a tsp. of CaCl2 and a tsp. of gypsum.
you will likely NEED some way to lower the pH in r/o, buy using acid or acidulated malt.
for 5 gal batches, i use a few oz of acid malt, unless im brewing roasted malts like stout/porter.

*edit, basically everything i typed was already in Yooper's thread, that she linked. hahaha!