Primary fermentation activity for extract vs all grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BassElement

Reaction score
Hey all -

I've been doing all grain brewing for about 2 years. I recently accidentally ordered the extract version of a DIPA kit instead of the all grain version, and instead of returning it figured I'd give it a try. Always up for learning something new.

All went smoothly on brew day, some interesting differences (shorter mash, no sparge, etc) that made things a bit faster. I am noticing now that while my all grain batches tend to have reduced activity in primary after a couple of days (based on the bubbler) my extract batch is still going pretty strong after 5 days... So my question is this: Is there something about using extract that results in longer / stronger activity in primary? Maybe the sugars are stronger, or just different somehow?

Anyway, I'm letting it go 2 weeks in primary (then 3 in secondary) and I know it's going to turn out great, but would value your experienced insight. Cheers! :mug:

Sugar is sugar. Should be no noticeable difference.

Wort fermentability may make a small difference, but probably less than a day difference.

I agree there should be no noticeable difference. Fermentations will be different even with the same beers and same yeasts... For an IPA I would only secondary for as long as your dry hops need. If you secondary at all. I dry hop in primary.

I've not notices a big difference between full extract and partial except that online software is always wrong with fermentability of the DME from my LHBS. I see bigger change when you change your pitch rate and fermenting temp.

I've just starter increase my lagers temp after 6 days fermenting and its starting to bubble again.