Pressurized Keg / Flat Soda

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuck917

Reaction score
Hello - I am new to the soda game and hoping this forum might be able to help me overcome some obstacles I have encountered in my pursuit. I have had luck developing recipes and executing them on the 1L level with a carbonation cap but am yet to have any of them carbonate when trying in a 5G corny keg.( I'm using a"Cocktail" Keg w/ down stems on both In & Out & a 20lb co2 tank ) I have tried turning up the pressure, tried shaking them, tried leaving them connected for 2 weeks and in the end I alway end up with soda that blast out of the tap but the liquid itself is still flat. It foams and froths and those sips taste good put when you pour it in a glass the liquid itself is still.

Questions I have based on thing I have read on this forum?

Hose Length? I have read a few post on the length of the tube between the the Keg and the Co2 tank. I am using the standard 3ft or 4ft tube it came with.

Is it the sugar? I use about 1 gallon of simple syrup, 1/2 gallon juice and 3 gallons cold water. I have read about the idea of carbonating the water and then just adding the Simple syrup but I'd rather have the whole drink carbonated.

PSI - I started off around 40 or 50 and after a week turned it up to around 80 and still nothing. When I set the regulator to 1-5 PSI for serving should I bleed the pressure in the Keg first? If not the soda just shoots out and creates a bunch of carbonated foam and yet the liquid in the pitcher is still flat.

Like I said I'm new to this hobby and this site so if anyone can help or direct me towards a resource that might help it would be much obliged!!!

Thanks so much -