Poured into secondary - is my beer toast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drink

Reaction score
I'm a beginner brewer, and I recently brewed my first Double IPA. Instead of siphoning into the secondary, I poured it from my primary fermentation bucket into a glass carboy using a funnel. Should I cut my losses and toss the beer or is there any chance the beer will still taste ok?

Never toss your beer, until after it has aged for a long time.

It is possible that you oxygenated your beer but there is also a good chance that it will not be a problem.

Most people on this site skip the secondary and just leave it in the primary until it is time to bottle.

Seriously guy, just exactly what dangers do you think are going to occur that you feel that it might be necessary to dump what could be perfectly fine beer? Even if it's 90% likely to be bad, why would you dump it? Bad beer never hurt anyone. And it's not that beer is "bad"; it's just that some beer is not as good as others. If it turns out your beer isn't as good as you'd like... then you don't drink it. That's all. And just how sensitive and likely do you think it is to ruin beer at every step of the way. If making beer was that hard no-one would ever successfully do it and we'd all, but the most hard-core extremists, would give up after our second hideous batch.