Porter too sweet with brown malt?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrphillips

Reaction score
I'm using Brown Malt for the first time and have recently read that some brown malt act a lot like crystal malt, but again, I have no experience with it. I recently posted a different question regarding diastatic power of brown ale, and I'm continuing my info-search towards a recipe.

The brown ale is "Gold Swaen Brown Malt" listed at 75-90 Lovibond

Recipe - 5 gallons

6.6 lbs. Maris Otter LME
2 lbs. Maris otter grain
2 lbs. Brown Malt grain
1 lb. Midnight Wheat

Will 2 lbs. of brown malt act the same as 2 lbs. crystal 80? If so, I'll change my recipe for the better. Thanks.

maybe you're thinking of carabrown? I believe it is a crystal/caramel malt.
the only brown malt I've used is from crisp. it's not sweet. its like very well done (maybe overdone) bread crust. it's toasty, a bit roasty, slightly bitter with just a hint of underlying sweetness. it worked awesome for me in a brown ale @ 1 lb. per 5 gal.
edit- here's what I did
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=573779

Last edited:
Thanks. The recipe looks nice. How'd the S-04 work out for you? I tried it in an Irish Red years back, and was underwhelmed. I've been considering giving it another go.

Thanks. The recipe looks nice. How'd the S-04 work out for you? I tried it in an Irish Red years back, and was underwhelmed. I've been considering giving it another go.

that was my first time using s04 & I thought the beer was great with just the right amount of residual sweetness. since then I've made a few other beers with s04...a Maris otter/EKG smash & a couple of porters. not really impressed. will probably try a better (read liquid) English ale strain once the weather cools off here.