Pimento-Aged Belgian Dark Strong Ale - Recipe Advice???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobdaferret

Reaction score
I made this recipe with rum-raisin-chocolate-chip dessert bread in mind... I'm a novice when it comes to recipes, so I'd like to see what you all think! All figures were estimated using the calculator at Brewer's Friend... does anyone else think those IBU estimates are low?

Recipe Type: Partial Mash
Yeast: French Saison (Wyeast #3711)
Yeast Starter: No (Maybe use two packs? Is it necessary?)
Batch Size (Gallons): 5.5
Original Gravity: 1.090
Final Gravity: 1.018
IBU: 15.08 (seems low...)
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 31.53
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 28 days @ 66-68
Additional Fermentation: Bottle condition
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 days @ 66-68

9.90 lb Pilsen LME
1.33 lb Belgian CaraMunich
0.50 lb Flaked Corn
0.50 lb Belgian Biscuit
0.33 lb Belgian Special B
0.33 lb Belgian Chocolate
1.00 lb D2 Belgian Candi Syrup
1.00 lb Amber Belgian Candi Sugar

1.50 oz Styrian Goldings (5.5%) @ 60 min
1.00 oz Hallertau Hersbrucker (4%) @ 30 min
0.50 oz Styrian Goldings (5.5%) @ 30 min

2.00 gr Grains of paradise @ 10 min
1.50 oz Rum-soaked pimento wood chips @ secondary (7-10 days)

The only thing out of place to me is the Flaked Corn. Not sure why you want it in there.

I'm assuming this one will age for a while, so I'd bump up the hops a bit.

Everything else looks pretty good.

Plus, I would highly recommend a starter for this brew. It's so easy to do. Even if you got 2 fresh packs you would still be underpitching.

I haven't used 3711 with a wort gravity this high yet, but it's a mother of a yeast, and will usually keep going till it's bone dry. I would expect the FG to be lower if you had a proper pitch.