pH Buffer Solutions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tobor_8thMan

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
While looking thru the AIH website during their sale, I considered purchasing some buffer solution for my pH meter. Noticed the following in the Q&A

"Q: I'm new to ph testing. Do I need to always calibrate my meter using both the 4.0 and 7.0 buffer solutions or can just use one to accurately calibrate?
Asked by: NA Ben - 3/20/2017

A: You can use one or the other, depending on which range your looking to test
Was this answer helpful?

Answer provided by: Aaron (3/21/2017)"

Gets me thinking. If we're testing our mash pH, why do we need to calibrate at both 4 and 7?

Thanks.

Two points, ideally two points that bracket the expected ranges to be measured, are needed to compute the electrode slope. With a single point calibration, measurements will be less accurate the further you get from the calibration point.

Follow up question... some bottles of buffer solution that they are only good for a certain amount of time unopened and a certain amount of time opened. What if they are stored in the fridge (37F)? Does the buffer solution remain viable if stored cold? If so, how cold and how long?

Thanks.

Interesting question for which I have no answers to offer. But I wonder if the shelf life difference between "room" and "fridge" temps would be significant given there's likely a decent amount of CO2 ingress through what appears to be an LDPE bottle at either temperature...

Cheers!

[edited - meant CO2 because that lowers pH]

Since it's a chemical reaction with CO2 that makes buffers "expire," I would think storing buffers cold would extend their shelf life, but I have no idea by how much.

Was this answer helpful?