Perpetually long lag times with starters....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ikezilla

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a about 2 years now and have recently moved into liquid yeasts with starters for all of my brews. The forum suggests this should help kickstart fermentation, validate yeast health, etc., etc., but I'm finding I can't get any signs of fermentation for at least 24 hours. I know airlock activity isn't always a necessary sign of fermenting, but in these cases I eventually get significant bubbling/airlock activity it just always takes at least 24 hours. Most recent example:

I brewed an IPA with 1.064 OG on Sunday - had a 1L starter (WLP002 with 100g extra light DME, 24 hours in advance with regular shaking, no stir plate) that was bubbling happily, cooled the wort to ~68 deg, aerated with a drill and mix-stirrer for 1-2 minutes (until I had some nice foam), pitched, and put in a temp controlled fermentation chamber. I set the temp at 62 deg F and left it. Came back Monday AM, no activity. I thought maybe I'd stalled the yeast growth with low temps, so I upped the temp to 64 degrees. Waited all day, no activity. Upped it again to 66, then 68 degrees and left over night. Here I am 36 hours after pitching and still no airlock activity. I picked up some SA-05 and if there is still no activity tonight (48 hours in) I'll pull the lid, check hydrometer readings, and repitch if need be.