Partial/Mini Mash vs Steeping

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skokott

Reaction score
I started brewing by steeping crushed grains at ~150F for 1/2 hour.

I'm having difficulty understanding the difference between partial mash and steeping. In this case the grains are crushed and my LHBS guy said it's to allow the fermentable sugars to be more easily accessible.

That seems to imply that fermentation rather than just flavoring (steeping) is going on.

So is this a partial mash or is soaking and sparging required? Especially for the recipes on this board when it says partial can I simply read "Crushed Grain Soaking" can also be done?

Very dumb question I know but I've googled here, elsewhere and gone through HTB again and I can't find it. It's probably right in front of my nose. (Sorry)

I used 1 qt per pound grain when I did this also.

A partial mash consists of a base malt with or without some specialty grains steeped in a specific amont of water for a specific time. Thats a pretty simple way of looking at it, but that's the gist. If you steep some crystal malt in a few gallons of water, you'll get color and flavor and unfermentable sugars, but there wont be any fermentable sugars. However, add some two row base malt with some crystal at about 1.25 quarts of water per pound (just an example) and steep that for an hour at a consistant temp (usually between 145 and 160 depending on stye), then you'll have the enzymes from the two row converting into fermentable sugars, and getting some fermentables from the crystal