partial-mash efficiency question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drlars

Reaction score
So I'm new to partial-mashing and I'm enamoured enough that I don't think I'll ever be going back to all-extract. I am doing BIAB-style mash with a sparge. 3-gal partial boils. I have a trappist dubbel clone in the secondary right now and a hefewiezen in my primary.

When I back-calculalted the my efficiency on the dubbel I was pleased to find that my efficiency was 80%. (I used the Brewer's Friend online program.) In retrospect, I should have known that it was one of those "too-good-to-be-true" things, because using that same 80% number for planning my hefeweizen left me coming up really short on my O.G.

Here are the two fermentable bills (both are 5-gal, and were mashed at 155-ish for 45 min then sparged at 170-ish for 10 min):

Dubbel: mash: 8 oz Special B, 8 oz Caramunich, 8 oz Belgian Aromatic,
2 oz Chocolate, 2 lbs pale rahr 6-row
other: 4 lbs Pilsen DME, 1 lb Amber DME, 8 oz cane sugar
1 lb Belgian Clear Candi Sugar
(O.G. was 1.074)

Hefe: mash: 2 lbs pale wheat, 2 lbs pale rahr 6-row
other: 3 lbs bavarian wheat DME, 1 lb honey
(O.G. was 1.044)

It was well-shaken in the fermenter before sampling, so that wasn't the error. By back-calculating it in the same way, my efficiency for the Hefe was only 35%! It even caused the estimated ABV (4.2%) to fall slightly below the style guidlines for a Hefe, which was sort of depressing.

The only thing I can come up with is that either a.) the wheat malt has some mashing requirements that elude me, or that b.) some of the malts in my dubbel (e.g. Caramunich, others?) had falsely raised my efficiency since they were pre-converted?

Can anyone more experienced weigh in?