Overshot OG by 30 points with Grainfather

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjosborne

Reaction score
I brewed the Amber Ale from love2brew today. My OG should have been 1.051, but instead I hit 1.082. I did check calibration right after and it looked good. I know this is somewhat of a good problem but how can I correct this in the future? Take a lb of grain out of each kit? Or just sparge with one gallon of water? Grainfather calculators had me use almost 3 gallons. I don't know, I'm new to all grain and stumped.

I brewed the Amber Ale from love2brew today. My OG should have been 1.051, but instead I hit 1.082. I did check calibration right after and it looked good. I know this is somewhat of a good problem but how can I correct this in the future? Take a lb of grain out of each kit? Or just sparge with one gallon of water? Grainfather calculators had me use almost 3 gallons. I don't know, I'm new to all grain and stumped.

You collected the anticipated volume (and not less)... and you got a valid gravity reading of 30 points high? Woah. (Did you double check with the wort temp in the hydrometer or that water reads 1.000 in your refractometer?)

If so, you have several options:
- Reduce your grain bill
- Dilute to desired OG
- Develop a taste for high ABV beer ;)

Seriously, if the beer tastes good then you're right you've got a few good options that will all get you to your desired OG.

But if you are getting any husky astringency then the crush might be too fine.... (even so, I can't imagine being 30 points high). If the finished beer tastes good then you can just bump up your brew house efficiency and use less grain.