Overfilled CO2 Tank?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scut_Monkey

Reaction score
So I'm going to run a scenario past you guys to see what your thoughts are on this. I went to a welding supply store that is different than the one I typically go to. I had them swap out two 5# old tanks that I have been using for about 2 years for two nice shiny aluminum ones with current hydro tests as my other two were out of date. I placed both the tanks sideways with the valves obviously closed into a tupperware container in the back seat of the car. I then had to work for about 2 hours and the tanks sat in the car at 37F during that time. When I came back out to the car the lid from the tupperware container had been blown off and one of the tanks had completely emptied and froze everything around it. After I got home I tried hooking the other tank up (still full) and it kept blowing liquid CO2 into my regulators. I finally unhooked the tank and opened the valve for about 30 seconds thinking that it was overfilled. After this the tank still seems to have 6.2 pounds of CO2 in it (13.6 pounds - 7.5 pound tank tare). Now that I purged some of the CO2 off the tank seems to be working just fine and luckily my regulators seem to be alright.