Overfilled 5G Carboy & then got it a little chilly

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonnojohnson

Reaction score
I'm still relatively new to AG and yesterday I brewed a batch of 80 shilling Scottish Ale. I used to just ferment at room temp in a plastic bucket but I wanted to improve my quality so I built an Igloo Ice Box cooler to improve the temp control of the ferment some. I built it to hold the glass carboy someone gave me but I didn't take into account that it's only a 5 gallon carboy.

I filled it as I normally do - with 5.5 gallons - and of course it barely fit. There is now only about a 4" diameter surface area on top (less than 2" to the bottom of the rubber bung).

Should I syphon some wort off? Should I rack it into the plastic bucket?

To complicate matters I also I discovered my thermometers weren't telling me the truth so I overcooled the wort a bit. The yeast is WLP0028 Edinburgh Ale which ideally should be at 65-70*f and according to White Labs, "Does not ferment well less than 62°F". I've cooled it to 60*f. After 12hrs it was showing some small signs of fermentation.

The yeast is fine. Just raise the temp and they'll wake up. As for filling the carboy, well it should be fine as long as you put a blowoff tube on it. You are pretty much guaranteed to have blowoff with the level it's at though. If you put just an airlock on it, it will probably clog and could potentially blow wort all over your room. Not fun.

Thanks bbognerks, that would have been my guess. I was just worried the low surface area would affect the yeast doing its job somehow.