Overcarbing? Infection? Bad batch? not sure what happened...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nikkuchan

Reaction score
Hello. I have a few years of brewing experience under my belt, but I can't say I'm very good at it. Living in Minneapolis, I get my kits mainly from Northern Brewer and sometimes Midwest. I haven't used any Mr. Beer products in years, but I still get their e-mail newsletter.

Anyway, they were having a big sale a few months ago, so I thought "what the heck. With free shipping, I could pick up a few things if it's a good deal. Well, their Winter Dark Ale cans were dirt cheap due to them approaching their expiration date, so I figured I could try some Mr Beer craft HME for a change, see if it was any good. I got 3 cans and brewed 6 gallons of it OG was about 1.051. Everything went normally, and after 3 weeks of fermentation I decided to bottle.

I went to take a FG reading, and foam foam foam. The crap foamed up like crazy in the tube. I waited for it to die down and took a reading of 1.010. Seemed fine, but all the foam was bothering me. It wasn't carbonated when I tasted it, but it was foaming in every bottle to the point where I was filling them all about half full and letting them sit for the foam to die down before filling the rest. I was telling myself that I shouldn't be bottling it like this, but then I would tell myself that it was probably something fairly common that I just haven't encountered yet. Besides, the FG is good, so what could go wrong?