Original Gravity Reading Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HappyC73

Reaction score
Hello!
I'm new to brewing and am on only my second brew of a mixed grain and extract recipe. My first batch turned out great! I've just made up my wort for my second batch (a Belgian Saison recipe) and I think that I wasn't careful when topping up the wort with water because my OG reading is now off. It is supposed to be 1.048...but instead it is 1.042. I'm gutted!! :(
What does this mean in terms of the beer? Will this batch be a complete waste, or will it just be a lower alcohol beer?

Lesson learned: add water carefully and take OG readings until the right gravity is obtained!

Thanks and happy weekend!
Chantal :mug:

It might not even be as low as you think. A lot of the time when topping up people don't mix it well enough to get an accurate reading. Don't worry though even if it is low out won't be an issue.

Readings are almost always off when you are using extract. Even if the reading is accurate, you would have a hard time telling the difference b/w two beers with OG of 1.048 and 1.042.

Have a home brew! :)

Thanks everyone! I was so worried because the recipe said: 'make sure that you don't fall outside of the recommended OG readings...', so I thought that I'd possibly end up with flavoured water.
On a happier note: The wort tasted great and the yeast is working away at the moment. The airlock is bubbling away.

You guys are the best!
Chantal:D

>> 'make sure that you don't fall outside of the recommended OG readings...'

"outside the recommended OG readings" means, roughly, dozens of points off. 6 points. *piffle*