Oak IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Liebz15

Reaction score
I have a well received double IPA recipe that is just asking for some oak. I’ve brewed it a couple of times and it consistently has a nice amount of hops (Approximately 74 IBUs using Tinseth) yet it's well balanced by malt (OG approximately 1.093).

Like any wannabe good homebrewer, I’ve decided to tweak this brew by adding some oak. I’ve purchased a one pound bag of white oak from my LHBS. Last Sunday, I completely submerged said white oak in a nice smokey scotch. I plan to do this brew this coming Sunday and – after my primary is complete in a week – I plan to add 4-5 ounces of this two week marinated oak into the secondary (keg).

Any feedback would be most welcomed as I am still rather new to this hobby (obsession). My concerns are as follows:

• Should I place the oak chips into a cheese cloth with a stainless steel weight inside or some other type of container to weigh it down? Or is it okay for the oak to float?

• Is 4-5 OZs okay for a 5 gallon batch with IBU = 70 and ABV = 10%? Should I add more or less?

• How long should I keep the oak in the brew?

• Should I remove the oak after the above time period or does CO2 and cold temperatures deactivate oak as it does dry hops?

Again, any words of advise would be most appreciated!

are they chips or cubes? this is a really good read for folks new to oaking:

http://morebeer.com/content/using_oak_in_beer