Not enough O2 lead to off flavours??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

403Brewer

Reaction score
I'm still somewhat new to the HB scene and am continually looking to improve my beers, my question is can not enough O2 during fermentation lead to poor flavours or what are the major drawbacks to a lack of O2 in the Wort, is it just incomplete fermentation? I do not use an Oxygenation system at the moment and I just want to justify purchasing one, the first year of home brewing is an expensive one (especially in Canada) so another $100 in gear is fine as long as I understand the benefits. Thanks!!

Oxygen will ensure the yeast propagates to the necessary cell count for the beer you brew. Personally, I shake the carboy for about 10 minutes to get oxygen in the wort. If you don't have enough cells, you could get incomplete fermentation or off-flavors from unintended esters. Hefeweizens often use a lower pitching rate because those ester profiles are appropriate for the beer. Basically, little oxygen is equivalent to pitching less. Also the yeast cell walls will suffer because they use the oxygen to strengthen their walls, which could affect the final product.