Noob question..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thompml

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to the Brewer's Best brewing, I've done the MrBeer thing quite a few times and loved it so I thought I'd step up to a bigger brew. I bought my equipment from a local liquor store and need to install my own spigots.......does anyone know how far up from the bottom is the recommended height to install? I know it's not critical, just looking for recommendations, as I don't know how much solids will accumulate at the bottom....

I bought my equipment from a local liquor store.

Do you mean the Local Home brew store, or an actual liquor store? Cuz if its a liquor store that is sweet that they sell home brew stuff there too!

Can you be a little bit more specific with the type of equipment you are talking about. There is lots of stuff you could have bought etc.

And for a primary fermenter, most of the time people just use a bucket with no hole or tap in it. Mr. Beer just does that to cut costs.

The bottling bucket is where the bung normally goes.

I've heard of several liquor stores carrying basic brewing supplies. None around me, but evidently it's not unheard of.

If you plan to bottle, and will be using this bucket for your bottling bucket, then fabricate a dip tube like Revvy recommends:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/bottling-tips-homebrewer-94812/
Then put your hole at the height to match your dip tube. This will permit you to siphon the bucket almost dry. I've thought about making a dip tube that is close to a "U" shape to get it closer to the wall, then a couple of spacers on the opposite side would let you "suck" the bucket almost dry.