No head

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wulfonce

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing. I've just finished my 3rd batch using kits from Barrons. I've noticed that my beer never seems to have head. Is there a technique or maybe a chemical or something that'll give beer a head? The beer still tastes awesome but its lacking in visual appeal.

Not a big concern but I'd like to improve on it anyway I can.

Couple quick questions. How long do you leave the beer in the fridge before you open it?
And do you wash your beer glasses in a dishwasher?
Ok... three questions... If you wash them in the dishwasher, do you use a drying agent like Jetdry?

Couple quick questions. How long do you leave the beer in the fridge before you open it?
Ok... three questions... If you wash them in the dishwasher, do you use a drying agent like Jetdry?

Usually at least some of the beers will be in the fridge for up to a week and a half before I drink them. I usually put 24 beers in the fridge at a time. Even my unrefrigerated beers dont have a head.

Yes the glasses are washed in a dishwasher and I dont use a drying agent.

Are they carbonated to your liking, but just have no head retention? Also, you aren't doing that silly pour down the side of the glass thing are you?

My guess is that its the extract in your kit. Try switching up brand of extract and see if the problem goes away. I'm not familiar with Barrons. Is it canned? I'm always suspect of the quality of canned extract. Try finding a local homebrew shop that sells extract from big drums, or buy an extract kit from Austin Homebrew. If the problem persists with good, fresh extract, I'd revisit the issue.