No fermentation ???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SYoung1970

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 3 years , but only about 8 batches . Mostly due to a move where equipment was in storage . I brewed Sunday the 29th , pitched us-05 at around 74 degrees . As of Tuesday evening no bubbles in jar . I panicked , and rehydrated some Lalvin for wine , and pitched it . Wednesday morning I had bubbles . Did I screw the batch up ? I use a Stout conical so I couldn't tell what was going on . This is a amber ale o.g. 1.050 suppose to end at 1.010 .

I have had batches that havent shown a single sign of fermentation for anywhere around 2 to 5 days. How fresh was the yeast that you used? Did you rehydrate it/make a starter? There can be some major lag times for yeast. For example, I just brewed a weizen with Munich Wheat dry yeast and that took almost 72 hours to show any signs of fermentation. I cant speak for what the Lalvin will do to the beer, but its always best to use a hydrometer to see if the wort is undergoing fermentation or not. Also, patience is key. Sometimes it just takes a little longer than you think. Let the yeast do its thing.

Thanks for the response . Don't know about freshness , Got it Friday with my grain bill . I've used safale 05 exclusively up until this point, always had activity within 12 hours until now . Making this for July 4th just want it to be decent.

Dry yeast normally has a pretty long shelf life, and if you got it locally I think its safe to say that you are fine. Did you pitch it straight or rehydrate? Also, was this a 5 gallon batch? You may have just under pitched the yeast. That could make them work a little harder than normal to try and get up to speed.