Nitrogen gas mix

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crushnbugs

Reaction score
Hey guys. I am a newbie and I have some questions about a Nitrogen gas mix.

I have only brewed one so far (Kolsch) and I plan on kegging it when completed. I have my corny kegs regulator and co2 ready to go. I just ordered a Cream Ale for the next one. My local bar has the cream ale on nitrogen and it's my all time favorite. It's so creamy and the flavor is amazing. I can only hope mine comes out close...

How does the gas mix work? Does anyone here run nitrogen at home for a Guiness like beer? Do you need two regulators? How expensive is it to run?
Can I dispense my cream ale on the nitrogen mix should I find it at an affordable price?

I would really love to make my own but I'm just not sure how doable this is. Am I starting out trying to do too much?

Thank you in advance!

Nitrogen mix requires a separate regulator and tap. The reg is not the same as the CO2 regs. It also requires a Nitrogen tank. The tap (they are expensive $90+) has a special plate in it with micro holes (mine has 5 holes). The Nitrogen is kept at 30 to 35 psi. This high pressure forces the beer through the micro holes and that is what produces the tiny bubbles that provide the 'cascade' effect and the creaminess.

I am still on my first tank of beer mix, running a Porter through it. So I don't know how long a tank will last.

Hope this helps.

I'll second what the previous poster said... I'd say you're looking at at least $250+ to get a nitro tap up and running... Faucet, shank, beer gas regulator, tank, it all adds up real fast.

Thanks for the info...