Newbie Question About Buying Green Coffee Beans

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pshankstar

BIAB Homebrewer & Coffee Roaster
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am new to roasting my own coffee beans and with this I am doing a lot of research, reading and looking at the various beans available for purchase. With that being said, I have been looking at Sweet Maria's a lot. I see some of the beans I am interested in say "Recommended for Espresso" then a Yes or No next to it. If it says "Yes", does that mean it should only be used with espresso machines or is it ok to use as standard coffee? I assume any beans good for espressos are fine for brewing coffee, but we all know what assume means. Also, I would hate to purchase several pounds of beans and find out that they are not going to be very good for brewing coffee.

Thank you all in advance!

Here is an example of a bean that is recommended for espresso.
Ethiopia Gera Jimma Nano Challa Coop

Well after many hours of research I think I found my answer. It appears that the beans or bags listed for espresso is a darker roast that is good for espresso machines. It can be brewed as regular coffee (pour over, drip, etc...). The flavors from the beans and roast will yield good results from an espresso machine. If the bean is not listed as "Recommended fro Espresso" then you may not get the flavors and characters you want with the bean in an espresso machine.