New to winemaking, not to beer brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dukes909

Reaction score
Hello all,

I sort of have the winemaking bug after some friends got into it recently. I have been homebrewing beer & cider since 1998(6?..can't remember).

I know I got started brewing beer with an extract kit and it was pretty easy, and I recall, turned out pretty good. So I bought a wine kit (this one) with the same idea.

However, I know that in brewing beer, especially with kits, there are many caveats. So I have a list of questions based on brewing beer!

1) A steadfast rule in homebrewing kits is "throw away the yeast that came with the kit!". Does this apply to this winemaking kit as well?

2) Do I need to aerate the mixture before adding yeast? (I think the one supplied is Lalvin 1118 though I don't have it in front of me - I know it is a Lalvin which I thought is a good name)

3) Can I use a plastic bucket for initial ferment, or do I need to go with glass?

4) Spring water, tap water, distilled water - which?

Those are my initial questions...thanks for any help!
Cheers

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello all,

I sort of have the winemaking bug after some friends got into it recently. I have been homebrewing beer & cider since 1998(6?..can't remember).

I know I got started brewing beer with an extract kit and it was pretty easy, and I recall, turned out pretty good. So I bought a wine kit (this one) with the same idea.

However, I know that in brewing beer, especially with kits, there are many caveats. So I have a list of questions based on brewing beer!

1) A steadfast rule in homebrewing kits is "throw away the yeast that came with the kit!". Does this apply to this winemaking kit as well?