New to Cider... Need Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCasey1992

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing beer for a few years now and have fallen in love with the hobby. In an attempt to increase my variety, I want to give a sparkling cider a shot.

For my first try, I'm thinking of making a cider with store bought juice and either blackberries or raspberries. More specifically, I'm thinking of making something similar to this: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum/threads/ninemilbills-easy-blackberry-cider.321190/

Can I use a puree for the berry flavor? I already have some Vinter's Harvest Raspberry puree. Can I use that? Also how much would you add? I'm planning on making enough to fill a 2.5 or a 5 gallon keg but haven't decided yet.

Thanks in advance!
Cheers!

I made a Raspberry Jalapeno cider last year and used an entire can of raspberry puree for a 5 gallon batch added to secondary. It could have used a little more time on the puree before I added the peppers, but it was still quite good.

It did stay cloudy for a very long time, though. The puree doesn't like to come out of suspension.

I made a Raspberry Jalapeno cider last year and used an entire can of raspberry puree for a 5 gallon batch added to secondary. It could have used a little more time on the puree before I added the peppers, but it was still quite good.

It did stay cloudy for a very long time, though. The puree doesn't like to come out of suspension.

How big was the can? Mine is 3 lbs 1 oz. Also, how long would you leave it on the berries to get enough flavor? Thanks for the help!

I used the same size can. I added the raspberries and peppers at the same time and let it sit for 3 days, if I remember correctly. I didn't want it to get too peppery.