New to ag brewing, Sparging questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THURN1S_HALEY

Reaction score
So..im new to all grain and I've not been able to find definitive answers to these questions, maybe someone can help. Sorry for the noob questions in advance.

What is the actual definition of batch sparging, fly sparging, and mash in/ mash out?

Also, the step by step processes on how to do each, and the effects of each on your final product.

I appreciate any help you can give. I've brewed a bunch of nice partial mashes with bags but I'm looking to move up with the big timers and lower my ingredient cost in the process.

Cheers!

mash in/out. mashing in is when you add grain to water. step one. you overshoot your goal water temp so when you add the cold (room temp) grain you get your target temp (fingers crossed). you then stir out the balls(blobs) of grain and let it settle. depending on style/recipe the amount of water used is anywhere from 1 to 2 qts of water per lb of grain. generally 1.5 is recommended. this typically sits for an hour in the mash tun. 30 minutes is technically sufficient but 60 is more common just to be thorough. after 60mins you start to drain into the kettle.

mashing out is also called sparging. again you over shoot your water temp a little so when you add it to the grain bed/mash tun it reaches your target temp. in a batch sparge you add all the water to the mash tun at once and let it settle for 20-30 mins then drain it out as normal. in a fly sparge you continually add sparge water through a collander/grate/screen/etc while the mash tun is draining thus sparging on the fly or fly sparging. again drain into your kettle.