New Future Kegging Master Questions :)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PoolBrews

Reaction score
I've been brewing for nearly 20 years, but am just now kegging for the first time!

Several questions:

Is there a specific thread thread here for new kegger questions?

I just racked my first batch in a keg - it's in the kegerator cooling right now. Can I let it set for several weeks before I actually carbonate it? Going out of town, and don't trust leaving my new keg setup pressurized while I'm gone.

Thanks in advance!

I've been brewing for nearly 20 years, but am just now kegging for the first time!

Several questions:

Is there a specific thread thread here for new kegger questions?

I just racked my first batch in a keg - it's in the kegerator cooling right now. Can I let it set for several weeks before I actually carbonate it? Going out of town, and don't trust leaving my new keg setup pressurized while I'm gone.

Thanks in advance!

https://www.homebrewtalk.com

There's the kegging forum. The second two stickies might be helpful to you!

Its fine to leave the keg. Honestly, I'd hook it to CO2 and leave it at serving pressure, but not hook up anything to the liquid(out) post. It'll carb up while you're away and be closer to ready when you're back...

If you can't trust it when you're gone, how can you ever trust it then? Sh*t can happen anytime...

Cheers!

Totally agree with goehaarden. Just make sure it's not leaking before you leave and it should be fine.

You can wait, but I think you should fill the head space with co2 to avoid oxidation.
As a new kegger I think it's wise of you to wait until you're back home before carbonating it fully.

What kind of keg do you have? Corny, sankey or something else?