New brewer needs IPA help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CHans3

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm a college student who discovered how much I love good beer while studying in Australia. Now that I'm back state side, I want to give it a shot. I've done a fair amount of reading and I'm really excited to start brewing. I've decided to try my hand at an IPA first. I'm not sure how well it will turn out, as it will be the first beer I have ever brewed. Basically, I'm just looking for any input on what types of ingredients to add (ie: types of hops / malts). I'd like to do a PM for my first brew. I am a bit of a hop head, especially hops with fruity flavors and aromas. The taste I'd like to go for is probably something like LaGuinitas IPA. I'd like to start with Caramel 60 malts i think, but as for the malt extract, I have no ideas what to use. Maybe Columbus for bittering and Cascade, Citra, and/or Willamette for flavoring in terms of hops would work? Once I get a better idea for the kinds of ingredients to use I'll try and post what I think are correct calculations. Any input is much appreciated!

Cheers

Well I would use a light malt extract like NBs gold malt syrup. As for specialty grains. Crystal 40 or 60 would be fine. Maybe .5lbs? Hops Columbus would be a good bittering hop however I think willamette would leave to much grassy flavors and aromas. I just made a batch of an IIPA with Columbus bittering and aroma. Centennial as flavor and aroma. And chinook at 30min and 20min. I'm also dry hopping with the three hops.