New Brewer, accidentally got someone elses order. What can I do with these?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GammaRay4130

Reaction score
I was all excited when I came home today to find my order from NB had arrived. I ordered a grain mill and the caribou slobber all grain kit which was going to by my first ag attempt. Anyway there was an extra box, had all of my info on it so I opened it up and lo and behold it was someone else's order with the wrong shipping sticker. So the first thing I did was call NB to let them know what happened, they said they would be shipping the other guy out a replacement package. Also they said I can keep the order and they will let the other brewer know whats going on.

Anyway I am new to brewing (3rd extract batch water is heat up at the moment) so I am asking what would be an easy first all grain batch with the ingredients I received, since they all came crushed I figured I should do this one before the caribou slobber.

Here are the ingredients.

10lb dark wheat
6lb german pilsner malt
1lb dark munich malt
1lb caramunich II
1lb caramel 120L
2oz tettnang
and 2 packats munich wheat beer yeast

After inputting this into beersmith it looks like it could have been for a 10 gallon dunkelweizen. Now I am only set up to do 5 gallon batches at the moment so I was thinking of just halving the ingredients and seeing what happens. Any suggestions? :confused:

You don't mention if you have all the other equipment for All Grain yet. If you do, then i'd do as you suggest and just cut ingredients in half and make a 5 gal batch.