Nelson Amarillo Pale Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrskunk

Reaction score
I'm thinking about doing a pale ale with some nelson but I've never used it before. I have tasted it in widmers bros. IPA but I was looking to make something where it wasn't quite so forward.

Any input would be appreciated.

5 gallon batch

9 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row)
2 lbs Vienna Malt
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L
0.50 oz Cascade [6.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [9.20 %] - Boil 15.0 min
0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min
0.50 oz Nelson Sauvin [11.50 %] - Boil 10.0 min
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [9.20 %] - Boil 5.0 min
0.50 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Aroma Steep
1.0 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05)

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.054 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.010 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.8 %
Bitterness: 42.4 IBUs
Est Color: 5.1 SRM

Certain brewing salts or yeast can make it less hop forward and more malt driven.Some yeast are known to accentuate hops more.But yeah,simply adding less hops probably particularly later addions would work.
What is it in Nelson you dont want or like? From what i remember amarillo (not shure about amarillo gold)is similar with a ripe fruit tropical mandarine thing.Citra seems similar to me as well.
Seems like you just want to tone down your late additons a little?

Its not that i dislike anything about the nelson, just from what i tasted it seemed it would be very easy to overpower the other hops

I would say your pretty safe with a 1/2 oz of nelson with 2 1/2 oz other hops. Looks like a good pale ale,let us know how it turns out. Looks good!
I tend to mash a little higher when using 05 yeast because i usually get too low finish with it often it seems.