Need help with first IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chalkdust41485

This is no hobby....
Reaction score
Hey All,

First time poster here and have received enough info on these forums to give myself the confidence to brew AG a few weeks ago (Belgium Blonde Ale, BIAB) after only one extract brew. So, thanks to all.

I'm still new to recipes, but threw the following together and wanted to get some input for my first IPA.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 4.14 gal
Post Boil Volume: 3.39 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 2.75 gal
Bottling Volume: 2.53 gal
Estimated OG: 1.060 SG
Estimated Color: 12.4 SRM
Estimated IBU: 62.0 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 71.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 85.1 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes
Est ABV: 6.5%

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
5 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 80.0 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (120.0 SRM) Grain 2 8.0 %
8.0 oz White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) Grain 3 8.0 %
4.0 oz Sugar, Table (Sucrose) (1.0 SRM) Sugar 4 4.0 %

1.0 pkg California Ale (White Labs #WLP001) [35. Yeast 11 -

0.25 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 14.8 IBUs
0.25 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 45.0 min Hop 6 13.6 IBUs
0.25 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 7 14.8 IBUs
0.25 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 15.0 min Hop 8 9.6 IBUs
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 10.0 min Hop 9 5.9 IBUs
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 5.0 min Hop 10 3.3 IBUs

1.00 oz Citra [12.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 13 0.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 12 0.0 IBUs

Mash Schedule: BIAB, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 6 lbs 4.0 oz
----------------------------
Name Description Step Temperat Step Time
Saccharification Add 18.32 qt of water at 157.3 F 152.1 F 75 min